Your first day-hike. It’ll be fun.

A few weeks ago I promised you, my dear readers, to help you plan your very first day-hike.  Since then, I know you’ve been reading all about everyone else’s adventures, seeing all your friends go on hikes and doing paddleboard yoga or taking selfies outside, and you want in on that sweet outdoorsy action.

dayhikegraphic

Despite my promises, I bet you are worried.  You’ve never really done anything outside before.  Well, stop worrying.  I understand that it can become pretty overwhelming to the first timer as you look around the internet for advice.  Simply Googling “Day hike packing list” can yield mixed results

This list from REI has over 75 items on it. Seventy. Five.  If you bought all 75 of those items at REI you couldn’t go hiking anyways because you would have to work extra shifts to pay your bills and you’re worried that your car is going to be Repo’ed  after spending $1500 on all this gear from REI. Yikes.

But let’s be real, most of the things on that list you won’t need for your realistic day hike. Your first day-hiking experience is probably going to be a city park or state park close to home.  Most state parks have short day hiking trails for beginners, that require minimal supplies and equipment.

So what do you actually need:

          1. Athletic clothing and comfy footwear.

You don’t need that $70 Patagonia shirt. I mean it looks awesome, but almost anything that is a polyester blend will work great. Stay away from cotton. You’ll be ok for the day, but unless you want to wear a wet shirt all day that never dries, a polyester blend is a better choice. As for footwear, you don’t need a pair hardcore hiking boots, you can wear most athletic shoes for a day hike. That old pair of shoes that you don’t want to throw away but don’t want to wear to the gym would be probably perfect.

         2. Cell Phone.

You are going to take it anyways, so remember that within that magic pocket computer of yours are a GPS, a map, and even your jams, if you want to listen to some tunes while you hike. (Be sure to use headphones, don’t be rude to your fellow hikers!).

        3. Water Bottle and a snack.

I know that is two things but I always take them together.

That’s really about it. Everything else is extra for a day hike:

  • Interpretive Field guide? Extra
  • 2 days worth of food? Extra
  • Quick Dry towel? Extra
  • Matches? Extra
  • Rambo knife? A little unnecessary

I do like to bring a bag that stays in the car, and in that bag, I’ll keep:

  • Sunscreen (Put on before you hit the trail)
  • Flip Flops (For after hike lunch so I don’t have to wear muddy shoes into a restaurant or in my car)
  • First Aid Kit (You never know)
  • More snacks (I’m a growing boy)
  • A jug of water (to top off whatever container I took on the hike)

That’s it!  You might be thinking that this post was somewhat anti-climactic, but that’s the point!  You see, chances are you already have all the things you need for a day hike! All you need is to pick a park, pack a (small) bag, and get moving!

 

One thought on “Your first day-hike. It’ll be fun.

  1. […] for that I suggest going on a shorter day hike. (See my blog post about that)  Most Parks have shorter routes with easy or beginner options. Some of the time the shorter […]

    Like

Leave a comment